Will Anderson Jr. Wins Second-Straight Nagurski Trophy

Will Anderson Jr. Wins Second-Straight Nagurski Trophy

Alabama’s linebacker Will Anderson Jr. was crowned the Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner on Monday evening. The award is presented annually by the Charlotte Touchdown Club to the national defensive player of year. It is voted on by the Football Writers Association of America.

The other finalists for this award were Calijah Kancey from Pittsburgh, Georgia safety Christopher Smith, and Tuli Tuipulotu, a USC defensive end.

Anderson also won the award following the 2021 season, making him the first repeat winner of the award since Northwestern linebacker Pat Fitzgerald accomplished the same feat in 1995-96.

Anderson has also been named a finalist in the Chuck Bednarik award, which is the Maxwell Football Club’s defensive player of year. The award will be presented Thursday night at ESPN’s College Football Awards Show.

In 2022, Anderson played his junior season as one of the most widely-recognized defenders in college football. All-time, Anderson ranks second on Alabama’s career sacks lists with 34.5, enough for a loss of 201 yards. Anderson also ranks second all-time in tackles for loss with 62 for a total loss of 272 yards.

Scroll to Continue

On the season, Anderson recorded 51 total tackles, including 17 for a loss of 72 yards. He also recorded 10 sacks along with an interception, 12 quarterback hurries and one pass breakup.

On Monday, Anderson was also named SEC Defensive player of the Year by The Associated Press.

See Also:

Will Anderson Jr. Named AP SEC Defensive Player of the Year

Alabama Basketball Moves Up in Latest AP Top 25, Coaches Poll

What Nick Saban Said About Alabama’s Sugar Bowl Matchup, Missing Out on CFP

Get your Crimson Tide tickets from SI Tickets HERE.

Read More